Let’s talk ZUMBA!!!!!!!!

Can you tell I’m avoiding talking about food? Let’s just say it has not been a fun 2 days…. still need to grocery shop for a few essentials (not too much because we leave for vacation in 1 week!) and finally, PMS has subdued (I’m human again!)  So let’s talk about Zumba since I have yet to talk about any exercise!

While I was out of work for 3 months, I started to get my strength back and tried Zumba. It was perfect. I could adjust what I did each class to how I felt without feeling bad about myself. I found myself catching on fast and was in love after the first few classes. I had joined a local gym for 2 months and was taking Zumba there at least 2-3 days a week. Then through Facebook, I saw that an old friend from high school was now teaching Zumba locally. A few of us old classmates got together and started to take her classes 1 night a week. For a few weeks I was taking Zumba 4-5 days in a row, even twice some days. I was addicted! I even attended a fundraiser (to support a local instructors husband who had been sick) by Zumba-ing for 2 hours, yes TWO HOURS non-stop in 95 degree heat. Awesome. Ok, I may not have looked awesome soaked head to toe but I sure felt awesome!

Then the dreaded day came, I had to go back to work 😦 I as enjoying my time at the gym with the local soccer moms and meet ups on Tuesday nights with old friends. Going back to work I was a bit nervous. No one really knew why I was out for 3 months but I was “sick”. I surely wasn’t going to tell them all it was because of anxiety and depression! (ps-alot had come from work too… that will be another story). Since my Zumba classes at the gym were in the mornings, I could no longer take them. Plus I ended my 2 month $$$$$ membership. That left me with Tuesday nights IF I was out of work on time. I made a handful of classes at first, then it was downhill. I wasn’t ready to deal with life, and work and Zumba and food and me. That was a bad thing. I was supposed to be focusing on ME. And well you know how it goes when you fall back into old routines……

I am happy to say my Zumba shoes are ready to get back on the dance floor. Back to classes next week, a Zumbathon when I get back from vacation and the Master Class in NY in Oct. Both of these events are to raise $ for Breast Cancer awareness, such a great cause. Of course I’m in need of  this Zumba tank! What do you think? 🙂

If anyone would like info on the class on October 3rd in NYC, please let me know I’ll forward you information!

Leave a Reply

